Specific copyright information. If you're not sure if you can upload your score, ask it here first

Moderators: kcleung, Copyright Reviewers

forum adept
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:45 am
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human


Postby WilliamBunting » Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:39 am

The above works from Br S's 1,2,3,5,6, are available on RSL.

They are for string quartet with optional db.

Arranger Schmalnauer was born in 1915, no death date in Music Sack

Publisher VEB Breitikopf Leipzig around 1950 plate num 4121-4129.

Would they be legal anwhere on IMSLP?

Regards WB

Copyright Reviewer
Posts: 1289
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 10:16 pm
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Re: Bruckner-Studien

Postby KGill » Mon Aug 01, 2011 2:10 am

Well, in a case like this, there are really no strong conclusions to be made, since we have hardly any information on Joseph Schmalnauer. (I should note, though, that MusicSack provides a floruit date of 1915 rather than a DOB.) However, in your position I would probably refrain from posting them - since he was active through the middle of the 20th century, it's not very likely that he died before 1961, and therefore it would probably be safer to leave it off IMSLP unless firmer biographical details can be established.

forum adept
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:00 am
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Bruckner-Studien

Postby reinhold » Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:44 pm

KGill wrote:Well, in a case like this, there are really no strong conclusions to be made, since we have hardly any information on Joseph Schmalnauer.

The homepage of Schott Music lists the death date of Josef Schmalnauer as October 30th, 1973


active poster
Posts: 434
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:10 am
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human
Location: the piney woods of Florida

Re: Bruckner-Studien

Postby cypressdome » Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:26 pm

Schmalnauer's arrangements of Symphonies 1,2,3,5, and 6 have now been uploaded to the U.S. server and are linked on the work pages for the Bruckner symphonies. It appears that the arrangements for all nine numbered symphonies were actually published by Breitkopf and Härtel between 1942 and 1944 (with plate numbers of 31155, 31221-31228). Two of the scores from the Russian State Library (5 and 6) bear the copyright date of 1944. It would seem that at some point (perhaps as early as the mid 1950s) Breitkopf and Härtel began re-printing the scores with the addition of bogus copyright notices claiming copyright dates from 1950 to 1953. Worldcat notes scores of Symphonies 5 and 6 with copyright dates of 1952 and 1950. A search of the U.S. Catalog of Copyright Entries for the years in question show no registrations for any of the arrangements. Also, no NIE filings could be found. As such, all the arrangements are public domain in the U.S. Should anyone have digitized versions of the arrangements for Symphonies 4, 7, 8, and 9 please pm me through the forums or contact me on the wiki and I'll be happy to upload them to the U.S. server.


Return to “Copyright Status Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest