Why are there no Bach scores? You suck.

Moderators: Vivaldi, kcleung

Why are there no Bach scores? You suck.

Postby imslp » Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:32 pm

It does not mean I hate Bach... in fact Bach is one of my favorite composers.

The reason there are no Bach scores is because of the lack of staff basically. I do indeed have all of Bach's works (scanned), and they are the 1855-1899 critical edition no less. However, I'm busy doing other composers right now (currently at Grieg), so I do not have time to sort out the Bach scans, which comes in 47 books (i.e. PDF files). Plus, I know jack (zero, zip, nada, etc.) German, which does not exactly help, as the critical edition is all German.

If anyone is interested in helping sort out the Bach scans, please e-mail me at imslp@imslp.org . Be prepared to do the following:

1. Do research on the BWV catalogue, and be able to provide a BWV number for each piece.
2. Be able to tell me how to cut the file (which page numbers are what piece).
3. Be able to submit the sorted scores files onto IMSLP.

-- Feldmahler
imslp
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Bach, etc

Postby Guest » Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:11 pm

It's amazing that people can get insulting about a free service!

A suggestion that I propose is that, in addition to the score pages that you are creating, you might give links to other sites. Thus, for example, for Bach, the Well Tempered Clavier can be found readily at http://www.dlib.indiana.edu/variations/ ... index.html.

Nearly all of Bach's scores can be found at the site, http://alan.melvin.com/, but it can be confusing.

There are others as well: e.g., http://www.mutopiaproject.org/ has a lot of Bach, as well as others...much like your site. There is also http://www.free-scores.com/.
Guest
 

Postby imslp » Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:28 pm

lol... the insult was me insulting myself :)

Anyway, for whatever reason there is, I cannot access the "alan.melvin.com" site (I get a 404). I know about Mutopia; free-scores.com I do not know, but it seems like just a list of other sheet music sites.

The difference between IMSLP and Mutopia/WIMA(Werner Icking Music Archive)/Gutenberg is basically in that IMSLP will primary host scans of public domain works instead of retypesetting it. That's why I'm releasing scans of the critical edition (a word/phrase musicologists will swoon over) of all 1000something of Bach's works and putting it up.

The problem is, of course, getting enough people to actually get it done.
Last edited by imslp on Sat Mar 04, 2006 3:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
imslp
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Bach Gesellschaft Edition

Postby Carolus » Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:19 am

I have the whole thing in PDF format, which I bought on E-bay last year. The scans appear to be of reasonable quality, and I'll be happy to share.

I assume regular old unlocked PDFs are OK.
Carolus
 

Postby horndude77 » Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:26 am

I think they are ok if the PDF's themselves are public domain. For example, http://www.everynote.com/ sells public domain scores in the form of PDF's but the pdf's themselves are copyright (I believe it's the scan that's actually under copyright so converting it won't do). I'm not sure there's a way around that.
horndude77
active poster
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 5:08 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Best Online Casinos

Postby Freddy189 » Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:45 am

Freddy189
 

Re: Best Online Casinos

Postby kongming819 » Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:39 am



What is all of this???
This has nothing to do with the thread!
Hey IMSLP, is this against anything in the rules?
Last edited by kongming819 on Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
kongming819
active poster
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Postby kongming819 » Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:42 am

imslp wrote:Anyway, for whatever reason there is, I cannot access the "alan.melvin.com" site (I get a 404).


The reason is the address included a syntax error (note the comma at the end of the url)
http://alan.melvin.com/
this should help. select the "non guitar" option when looking for scores
kongming819
active poster
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Re: Best Online Casinos

Postby ReignMan » Wed Aug 16, 2006 8:15 am

Composer for Films, TV, and other Broadcast Media
Session Piano/Bass/Guitar/Percussion
Musical Savant
ReignMan
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 11:30 am
Location: Miami, FL, United States of America

Re: Best Online Casinos

Postby kongming819 » Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:33 pm

ReignMan wrote:


spam image


LOL, nice...but how did it get here? And why?
kongming819
active poster
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

SPAM defined for Kongming

Postby Sphemusator » Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:51 pm

SPAM is internet slang for unwanted and irrelevant messages, generally interpreted as an acronym for Sending Prolific Amounts of Mail.

i.e. advertisements for sites that are of little or no interest to the users of most fora.
Promoting the music of James Butt, f.i.a.l.
http://sphemusations.tripod.com/

And my own work
http://kittybriton.deviantart.com/gallery/

Now open: Kittybriton's Muddlery
http://kittybriton.etsy.com/
Sphemusator
forum adept
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: NE USA

Postby kongming819 » Sat Aug 19, 2006 2:40 am

I know what spam is...
I just don't get how spam ends up in a music forum...
kongming819
active poster
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

SPAMjacking

Postby Sphemusator » Sat Aug 19, 2006 11:54 am

If it made sense it wouldn't be SPAM :D

There are, and presumably always will be, people in business who think that mass-mailing is more efficient than trying to identify and target a specific market.

They remain wilfully ignorant of the damage they actually do to their business by wasting the time and energy of people who might otherwise be potential customers.
Promoting the music of James Butt, f.i.a.l.
http://sphemusations.tripod.com/

And my own work
http://kittybriton.deviantart.com/gallery/

Now open: Kittybriton's Muddlery
http://kittybriton.etsy.com/
Sphemusator
forum adept
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: NE USA

Postby kongming819 » Sun Aug 20, 2006 3:21 am

Oh LOL...thnx for defining...
Anyways, back to Bach scores. Has Feldmahler visited that one link I fixed?
kongming819
active poster
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Postby imslp » Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:35 pm

horndude77 wrote:I think they are ok if the PDF's themselves are public domain. For example, http://www.everynote.com/ sells public domain scores in the form of PDF's but the pdf's themselves are copyright (I believe it's the scan that's actually under copyright so converting it won't do). I'm not sure there's a way around that.


Well, imo, if Carolus did not get any type of license agreement, then the PDFs are not protected by law insofar as he is concerned. I highly doubt scans have copyright in themselves, because they are not usually considered creative works. However, it might be possible to license PDFs as part of a computer software, etc.

Even if the PDFs *are* licensed, imo Carolus has not committed a crime by thinking it is in the public domain as long as he is unable to find evidence to the contrary, because this assumes that the eBay transaction is lawful (innocent until proven guilty). If there is an infringement of copyright, it would be by the person who sold the scores on eBay, and not Carolus himself. This is like a pawnbroker selling a stolen item; he has no reason to think that the item he bought was stolen.

Of course, I'm not a lawyer, so I welcome corrections to this theory :)

kongming819 wrote:Has Feldmahler visited that one link I fixed?


I think I did a while back... haven't been there recently though.
imslp
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Next

Return to Other

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests