Advice on converting a printed score to Midi

Moderator: kcleung

Graham1973
forum adept
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Advice on converting a printed score to Midi

Post by Graham1973 »

I'm thinking of converting a score I downloaded (Bertuzzi's 10 Violin Caprices) to MIDI. As I have never done this before I was wondering if anyone else had tried doing this and what pitfalls I should watch out for?

Graham
Yagan Kiely
Site Admin
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot

Re: Advice on converting a printed score to Midi

Post by Yagan Kiely »

How are you planning to do this?
Graham1973
forum adept

Post by Graham1973 »

I have a copy of the MuseScore program (V 0.9.5b) which I can use to transpose the notes into an electronic format for conversion to midi.

If I can locate software that allows me to scan printed score into a computer readable I'll use that as a start point.

I've taken the first step and printed out a copy of the score.
horndude77
active poster

Post by horndude77 »

Are you talking about Optical Music Recognition (OMR) software? Most I've tried haven't worked very well. The easiest open source one to try out is probably audiveris. I haven't had the best luck with it though. I've read some papers in the past about people using gamera for some parts of omr (Staff line removal). But this still won't get all the way there.

I haven't tried a commercial one in a long time so I can speak much about those. Last I tried I thought it was less effort to just type the music in than correct mistakes from the OMR output.
vinteuil
Groundskeeper

Post by vinteuil »

The one that comes with finale isn't too too bad actually.
Formerly known as "perlnerd666"
Graham1973
forum adept

Post by Graham1973 »