Submit music to IMSLP

Moderator: kcleung

hlszakal
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Submit music to IMSLP

Post by hlszakal »

I am a newbie and writing this on behalf of our family's music teacher since she has little/no access to the internet. Ms. K has inherited boxes of old music on paper that she will like to donate to the IMSLP. Ms K says that the music will be invaluable to the project. Given that she does not have a scanner or Internet, can someone provide guidance on how she will be able to do this?
NLewis
active poster

Re: Submit music to IMSLP

Post by NLewis »

Ooh, we are very much looking forward to the submissions! Do you happen to know any of the pieces (/editions)?

There are four ways that I can think of that are the most practical:

1). Is there a local library that would - perhaps - have a scanner? If so, that would be a reasonable approach to scanning the music, and submitting it to IMSLP (provided the library also has internet access).

2). Perhaps a friend has internet access and a scanner? I would ask around to see, and maybe they would be willing to let Mrs. K (or a trusty friend of hers interested in scanning the music) scan it there.

3). Mail the music to someone who does have internet access (perhaps a relative) and ask them if they could scan it and submit it. Although, socially, it's probably too much to ask a person.

4). I'm sure that a local school / college has a scanner and internet access. A realistic option would be to scan them at school and upload through IMSLP (though, shockingly, some schools are blocking the site!).

Hopefully those ideas help, but they are just a few suggestions. We'll wait to see if anyone else has any ideas.
reynard61

Post by reynard61 »