What are the benefits of having perfect pitch?

Moderator: kcleung

AudreyL
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

What are the benefits of having perfect pitch?

Post by AudreyL »

I do not have perfect pitch. I have been playing piano, playing sax, and studying music for almost 20 years. I have familiarized myself with music enough to have developed relative pitch. I can find my way around any song when listening to it, I just don't know off-hand which key it is in.
All this to say, I have a potential student wanting to learn piano for the purpose of learning perfect pitch. I cannot decide how to reply.
I think it is cool some people have this naturally, but I can probably count on one hand the times I would have needed perfect pitch.
What are the benefits?
jossuk
active poster

Re: What are the benefits of having perfect pitch?

Post by jossuk »

I would recommend reading the excellent Wikipedia article on Absolute Pitch. There is no significant indication that it can be taught.

My own experience: absolute (perfect) pitch has definite drawbacks. The "A" known as such to one possessing this ability is linked to a particular number of vibrations per second (Herz). If one's "perfect" A equals 440 Herz, then exposure to variations (higher or lower) will cause distress sufficient to negate any previous advantage. Such variations can be historical (Baroque tunings), regional (local traditions of tunings higher or lower than 440), and situational (a cappella choral performances where the pitch drops during a piece).

Of far greater value is the development of relative pitch that you mention. Aural recognition of scales and intervals is essential. Ditto knowledge of chord progressions. And, if you are a singer, comparing an unknown pitch to your own vocal range can be a quite useful tool, as the vocal muscles do have memory.
aris_berd

Post by aris_berd »