Moderator: Copyright Reviewers

fortspinnung
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Copyright on scores retyped in Sibelius/Finale

Post by fortspinnung »

Hello,

I have a question about the copyright of a score in some situations:

- If I have a printed copyrighted score of a Brahms piece and I write that again in Sibelius (or Finale, or whatever), changing some minor things (articulations, bar numbers, layout...) and export it to a new PDF file. What is the copyright of that new score?

- What if I do the same thing with the score of a composer who's still alive and released that score a year ago?

To give some background, I'm studying music and sometimes I write in Sibelius the scores I'm analyzing, reducing, orchestrating,... and they're not in the IMSLP. Can I contribute those scores (the originals, in case of orchestrations or reductions) to the library?

Thanks in advance and congratulations for the great work ;-)
Víctor.
Carolus
Site Admin

Re: Copyright on scores retyped in Sibelius/Finale

Post by Carolus »

Generally, if the Brahms work is in the form it was originally written in (as opposed to an arrangement, like a new orchestration of a piano piece), your new typeset should be fine. The copyright of the new score (in countries where such a new score qualifies for the limited protection given to typesets and urtext editions) is your own. For a composer who is still alive, you would have to have his written permission to post your typeset here under one of the Creative Commons licenses.
reinhold
forum adept
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot

Post by reinhold »

Carolus wrote:Generally, if the Brahms work is in the form it was originally written in (as opposed to an arrangement, like a new orchestration of a piano piece), your new typeset should be fine. The copyright of the new score (in countries where such a new score qualifies for the limited protection given to typesets and urtext editions) is your own.