General copyright-related issues and discussions

Moderator: Copyright Reviewers

jonparks
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Using scores that are "n.d."

Post by jonparks »

Hello,

I've noticed that a number of scanned scores have an unknown date of publication. In most (if not all) of these cases, the composer's death is far enough in the past to make their work public domain. But how can we have confidence that a particular score of a composer's work is itself in the public domain if we don't know the date of its publication?

Thanks!

Jon Parks
goldberg988
forum adept
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot

Re: Using scores that are "n.d."

Post by goldberg988 »

I am not an expert, but I suspect our reasoning is thus: since Publication date (Copyright date) is more important for U.S. Copyright law (i.e. must be before 1925), it would seem that few publishers in the 20th century would be careless enough to not put a copyright date on their [new] publication. Some publishers, however, are notorious for not doing so for old engravings, even with scores you would purchase new today (C. F. Peters, for example). Then it takes a little detective work; you can use the plate numbers at the bottom of the page to estimate approximately what year it was probably engraved; and certainly the style, clarity, and other details of engraving will help you decide an approximate era. I suppose also, if something is published without a copyright notice at all, how does the publisher claim any right to it, anyway? (in the U.S.). If the publisher could later prove that it WAS first printed in 1927 or something, I suppose it would have to be taken out of Public Domain for the U.S. But I think this never happens.
Carolus
Site Admin
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Re: Using scores that are "n.d."

Post by Carolus »