[Feat] Better ways to find full scores

Moderators: kcleung, Wiki Admins

jsnfmn
forum adept
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot

[Feat] Better ways to find full scores

Post by jsnfmn »

I don't know how feasible this is, but as a composer I am often far more interested in studying the full score as opposed to vocal/piano scores, piano arrangements, etc. For operas it can be especially maddening to have to browse through everything to find the smattering of full scores that are on IMSLP. Full scores of older operas, though especially full of pages (though not any more than the vocal scores are) seem like they would be ideal to host here as they can be so difficult to purchase/find at a library which are overstocked by vocal scores that are for the most part useless to me.

If there is already a way to easily search for this, I'd love to hear about it, otherwise I think many people would find this extremely useful, or at least I would.
Carolus
Site Admin
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Post by Carolus »

We always try to put the full score of an opera at the top of the page, followed by the vocal score, after which appear the misc. arrangements, transcriptions, and excerpts.

This can potentially result in a huge page, especially when you're dealing with 400-plus page full scores and almost as big vocal scores that are broken up into multiple files. I've been attempting to follow a more or less consistent hierarchy on work pages:
  • I. Complete Work
    • (1) Full score
      • (a) Manuscripts
        (b) Printed editions
      (2) Orchestra Parts
      • (a) Manuscripts
        (b) Printed editions
      (3) Piano reductions (for operas, vocal scores)
      • (a) Manuscripts
        (b) Printed editions
      (4) Other arrangements (like a piano score for an opera)
      • (a) Manuscripts
        (b) Printed editions
    II. Excerpts, Arrangements, Transcriptions